REMARKS BY THE MEC FOR EDUCATION, MR SIPHOSEZWE MASANGO ON THE OCCASION OF THE AGGREY KLAASTE MATHS, SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR AWARDS

Programme Director - Ms Dudu Nkosi Head of Department - Mr M R Tywakadi Telkom Foundation Representative - Mr Nathi Pahlana Sowetan Education correspondent - Mr Victor Mecoamere Provincial Co-ordinator - Ms Dunley - Owen Colleagues in the Department Participants and finalists Adjudicators Distinguished Guests Ladies and Gentlemen

We are on course to educate the nation!

It give me pleasure to have been invited to the Aggrey Klaaste Maths, Science and Technology Educator of the year Awards which is an important Nation Building initiative.

Thank to the innovative thinking and visionary leadership by the late Dr Aggrey Klaaste who was the Editor-in-Chief at the Sowetan.

Today, is indeed a day of joy where in collaboration with our partners, i.e., Sowetan and Telkom we are going to announce this year's winners of this exciting competition.

Lest I forget, let me express our heartfelt appreciation to both Sowetan and Telkom for the selfless and unselfish contributions they are making in educating the nation, particularly in the fields of Maths, Science and Technology.

With South Africa's ever-increasing involvement and participation in the international arena, the country needs more skilled people than ever before.

A thorough knowledge of Maths, Science and Technology remains a top priority if the country is to successfully compete in the ever-challenging global stage.

The winds of change blowing in the world of Science and Technology demand of our education system to produce competitive and skilful citizens who will be real change agents. We therefore have no option but to give recognition to teachers who excel in these fields, thereby enhancing the teaching and learning of Maths, Science and Technology.

The infusion of Technology and Computer Skills in our curriculum will undoubtedly lead to the expansion of the learner horizons as they begin to be exposed to global trends and thus becoming not only the citizens of South Africa, but of the entire world.

I am particularly excited that the Aggrey Klaaste Maths and Science Teacher of the year Awards is a project which seeks to identify and reward Maths, Science and Technology teacher who have excelled in the teaching of the said learning areas.

The Mpumalanga Department of Education has succeeded in producing two national winners in the name of Mr M Mlombo (2002) from Sitintile High School in Ehlanzeni Region and Mr F Rufetu (2006) from Ekangala High School.

Once more, congratulations *maqhawe ethu!*

I hope the winners that will be announced this afternoon will once again keep our flag flying high.

May the best teacher win. *Halala!*

AYIHLOME IFUNDE!